47th Orchestral Season

View Event Calendar
Full List Calendar

The 52nd Hong Kong Arts Festival In 2024
Music About China – A Dialogue between the Bianzhong and the Organ

Date and Time
23/3/2024 (Sat) 8:00pm
Hong Kong Cultural Centre Concert Hall
Ticket Fee
$450, $350, $300, $250
Yan Huichang
Performed by
Guest Concertmaster : Zhang Chongxue
Organ : Shen Yuan
Sheng : Chen Yi-wei
Music About China is a signature series of the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra, first appearing in 2007 as a joint initiative between the Orchestra and the Hong Kong Arts Festival. The platform premieres new works by composers from Greater China and overseas to promote Chinese culture and perpetuate Chinese music. This year, the focus is on works for the Chinese bianzhong and the Western pipe organ. Written by Kuan Nai-chung, Wang I-yu, and Ng Cheuk-yin, the pieces present a dialogue between these majestic instrumental voices from the East and the West.

Reeds Wang I-Yu
Organ: Shen Yuan

Sheng: Chen Yi-wei

Illusion Reality (Commissioned by the HKCO / World Premiere) Ng Cheuk-yin

Organ: Shen Yuan

Bianzhong: Liao Yi-ping, Chin Kwok Wai, Maio Shih-jhe

Symphony No. 2 for Chinese orchestra and pipe organ Kuan Nai-chung
The first movement: Maestoso - Allegro
The second movement: Adagio
The third movement: Scherzo
The fourth movement: Allegro con brio

Organ: Shen Yuan

The concert runs approximately 71 minutes with a 15-minute intermission.